The Awakening

When the day winds down

Into a shadowdance sunset

And flickers of firelust crackle in my mind

I close my eyes

And see your face.

You stare at me with rusty-penny eyes

Timeworn and true

Only two thoughts in your mind

Penny for your thoughts?

But just your gaze is enough.

When the night sky wears her bejeweled gown

All cobalt blue with glittering gems

And my troubled mind is subdued

By her graces and charms

I close my eyes

And see your smile.

Your grin is a streak of lightning

Dazzling and mighty

And it’s just for me

But where have you gone,

That I must only dream of your mouth?

When morning dawn blushes

In a sleep-sweet yawn

And the world stirs

Like a breath

Like an awakening

Like a birth

I open my eyes

And there you are

There you are.

One thought on “The Awakening

Penny for your thoughts? :)

